If you are interested in submitting information about contests for undergraduate editors, please email our web coordinator Catherine Dent at

AWP Directors’ Prize

Instituted by the directors of AWP’s member programs, two National Program Directors’ Prizes for undergraduate literary magazines are awarded annually to outstanding journals in the categories of content and design. Each winning magazine receives a $500 cash award. Winners are announced in the Writer’s Chronicle and in other media, and the winning magazines are acknowledged at AWP’s Annual Conference & Bookfair the following year. Prize honoraria are sent directly to the winning magazines. The final judges for content and design are announced at the conclusion of the competition.

Submissions: Submissions must arrive at AWP by March 15 of each year.



Comments are closed.